Geek out about Blackberry Storm

I am not a tech gadget freak. I didn’t stand in line for hours to buy either iPhone. We do have a Wii, but only because someone gave it to us as a gift (thanks, mom!). I have a sensible PC laptop with the usual capabilities, but nothing fancy.

But I’m here to tell you I’ve been geeking out about the news I saw come out yesterday regarding the new Blackberry Storm Smartphone. Hi, my name is Liza, and I’m addicted to my Blackberry.

I had my first taste of “Crackberry” addiction about a year ago. Before that, I used my trusty cell phone to make and receive calls. It did not have e-mail or Internet capability and I could count on my hand how many text messages I sent on it.

But once I succumbed to the Blackberry last year, I was hooked. Before long, I had “Blackberry Thumbs” from typing so many e-mails, and my husband threatened to throw it in the trash if I didn’t put it down and have an eye-to-eye conversation with him every once in a while! Friends wondered if I ever left home without my phone firmly placed in front of my face (not much). You’ll be happy to know I’ve since toned down my Blackberry usage to more appropriate levels.

But my true ‘geek out’ moment came when I saw the announcement about the Blackberry Storm coming this fall to Verizon Wireless (my current carrier). The touchscreen! The 3.2 megapixel camera! Ah, the gloriousness of it all. Even though I’m not due for another “new every two” phone under Verizon’s plan until next August, it will take all of my willpower to not run out and buy one of these beauties when they hit store shelves. (Of course, pricing hasn’t been released yet, so this may cool my jets somewhat!).

I can’t remember the last time I was this jacked up about a product. Can you? What product did you geek out about recently? Did you bide your time or rush right out and buy said product? And more importantly, did it live up to your expectations? (All the marketing in the world is useless if the product doesn’t live up to the hype).

Tell me your best product geek out moment…..

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

