Shout out to Clemson PRSSA

For some reason, I guess since the VP debate, I’ve been wanting to give “shout out” Sarah-Palin style. So, gosh darnit, I’m going to give a shout out to the Clemson PRSSA students!

This post is LONG overdue, but in September Liza and I not only had the pleasure of participating in a panel discussion at Clemson PRSSA’s FIRST meeting, but we also had the joy of dining with most of the panel beforehand and meeting a lot of great future PR professionals after the panel discussion.

The students arrived on time, were prepared to ask a lot of great questions, were all dressed so professionally and clearly excited to be attending the first of many great professional meetings. Some were even using Twitter to share with others who couldn’t make it what was going on in the classroom (that was a little intimidating!). I couldn’t help but to think back to my college days and hope that I looked that interested and engaged (we can only hope).

I’m actually going to speak at Dr. Mihaela Vorvoreanu’s PR-inciples class this month, alongside John Gouch, Assistant Director of News Services, Office of Public Affairs, Clemson University and am very excited to return.

For all those out there who are lucky to be pursuing their passion in PR, what’s the one piece of advice you would give upcoming students these days? Let us know!

6 Comments

  1. Just one more side note. This afternoon I received a thank you card in the mail from Clemson PRSSA’s Meg Ried. Icing on the cake!

  2. Hi Liza and Kim! I am a member of PRSSA at Clemson, and I just wanted to let both of you know that I really enjoyed hearing you speak at our first meeting. Hearing about your experiences in the field of PR really helped me understand it better, and it also got me excited about possibly working in PR!

  3. Thanks so much for the shout out! I’m glad that you enjoyed your visit to Clemson, and can’t wait for you to come back to speak to our class! Definitely looking forward to it!

  4. […] on “Shout Out to Clemson PRSSA” Comment on Kim Banks’ blog post “Shout Out to Clemson […]

  5. Thank you for the shout out, Kim! It was great having you at the meeting and I can hardly wait for you and John to speak in the media relations class… which reminds me I owe you a reply to an earlier email about that…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

