When life gets in the way…

Hi everyone,

This post doesn’t have anything to do with PR, marketing or social media, but rather is a quick update on me. As some of you may know, I’m eight months pregnant with my second child, another boy. I had my first son early at 35 weeks, after going into labor at 33 weeks. (Thankfully, he’s a happy, healthy two year old now!).

This pregnancy is proving to be a replay of the first, since I started going into labor again earlier this week, at only 32 weeks. After two fun-filled days in the hospital, they discharged me under strict bed rest orders to try and get me to go until 36 weeks.

If you know me, you know how it’s near impossible to make me sit still. I’m just one of those Type A personalities that’s always go, go, go. So obviously bed rest doesn’t really fit into my ‘neat little agenda,’ but I’m doing my best to comply so that I can give my baby a good start.

I’m fortunate that I have such great understanding clients, and a job where I can do most of my work from my laptop and phone. So for the most part, it’s been business as usual. But I won’t lie, it’s hard being cooped up in the house all day, not going to any meetings, not seeing that many people, etc. It makes it hard to stay focused and motivated.

I’m learning to roll with the punches and realize that you can’t always script everything out. I know the next three weeks are merely a blip in the time space continuum, and that it’s important for me to take it easy, for the health of my child. But I won’t say that it’s going to be easy. I’m used to do everything myself and now I’m having to rely on others to do things for me.

What do you do when life throws you a curve ball? Do you adjust well, or is it hard to make the change? What advice do you have for me so I can stay motivated over the next few weeks?

2 Comments

  1. Glad to hear you’re OK and the baby didn’t rush into this world!

    Hey, I know in U.S. culture you’re supposed to be upbeat and motivated no matter what… but I can’t handle the stress of that, and I think it’s absurd.

    So, feel however you feel like feeling. Forget about the world. Focus on yourself and the baby. I promise you, the universe won’t stop even if you take a 3-week break!

    Call me if you want to chat, and if you need company, I’d be happy to stop by and visit you.

  2. Ha! Your assessment of the U.S. culture and its expectations to go, go, go is right on. I’ve fallen victim to that my whole life! 🙂 (Oh wait, that’s probably a topic better suited for a therapist!).

    In any event, you’re right. I realize I need to slow it down a little, even if just for a few weeks, and trust the work will be waiting for me when I return.

    I’ll definitely call and e-mail you in the weeks ahead! Stay tuned for news of Baby Jones’ arrival!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

