How do you stay strategic?

I came across this post from Todd Defren’s PR Squared blog: “I wish my PR firm was more strategic.”

What really struck me was how close to home the post’s message hit me. I have the pleasure of working with three really great clients right now, all of which afford me the opportunity to provide strategic and results-driven public relations counsel.

But I’d be lying if I said there weren’t times when I felt like I was simply going through the routine motions. I think we’re all guilty of this, especially if we’ve been working with a client, or even within an organization, for a long period of time.

This post reminded me why I love my clients, and it’s up to me to make sure I continue to provide them with the best, most strategic, most attentive PR service I can. I take Todd’s post as a great reminder to myself to continually challenge and exceed my clients’ expectations every day.

What about you? Now that summer’s over and we’re headed into fall – do you find yourself sometimes falling back on tried-and-true routines simply because you know how to do them and you know they’re ‘good enough’ to get by? Or are you constantly looking at ways you can show your expertise and prove your value to your clients or within your organization?

How do you get yourself out of a routine rut? I think we’d all love to learn some ways we can motivate our strategic sides!

1 Comment

  1. Hey Liza,
    Thanks for bringing Todd’s post to my attention – thought provoking! To me, one of the keys is going into any client relationship with a plan in place. A plan serves as your roadmap of ideas when you are energized and the work first begins. But along the way, you need to regularly visit the plan – with the client – and evaluate and measure what worked well and what didn’t work. This gives you a chance to brainstorm new ideas with your client and adjust your plan for the future accordingly. It also helps to breathe new energy into the work/client relationship!
    Amy B.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

