How far should loyalty take you?

Hi peeps,
Sorry for the long absence! But you’ll be glad to know Kim and I have been scouring the community, meeting with journalists and other interesting people. We’re looking forward to reviving Palmetto PR Divas.com and engaging in some more interesting dialogue with all of you!

(Also – welcome to all of the new Clemson PRSSA members as they kick off their chapter with a meeting on Thursday, Sept. 25! Kim and I will be there and can’t wait to meet all of you!).

Ok, now on to what I’ve been thinking about lately: Loyalty and Hair. Yes, those two things together. As most women will understand (and some men, too), we are very loyal to our hairdressers. More than any other service providers, our hairdressers are our confidants, our therapists and above all, they hold the power to help us look our best.

Yes, we are very loyal to our hairdressers, even if we know we might receive a better haircut from someone else. So this week, I did the unthinkable. I cheated on my hairdresser, the one I’ve been going to since I was a little girl.

As soon as I made the decision to do it, the guilt set in. Should I call my old hairdresser and tell her? Should I just avoid her at all costs, ducking into a store if I happen to see her on the street? (This IS still somewhat of a small town, after all).

But I went somewhere new yesterday to get my haircut and all I can tell you is: what a breath of fresh air! Not to toot my own horn, but it’s the best haircut I’ve had in a while and I was really happy with it! (Cue more guilty feelings – should I feel bad for liking my new haircut better than my old?).

Kim and I talked about it and I came to the conclusion that sometimes change is good. Although loyalty is to be valued, sometimes it’s nice to mix it up a little and see what else is out there. I ended up paying the same price for a haircut I like better than what I was receiving. I know “it’s not personal, it’s business,” but I don’t subscribe to that philosophy at all. Business IS personal, whether you want to think so or not.

I still haven’t figured out what to do about my old hairdresser – if I should come clean and tell her or just hope I never have to address it.

What do you think about loyalty? How far does it take you with someone you work with, and when do you decide it’s better to make a change? And on the flip side, if you’re the one providing the product or service, what can you do to keep your loyal customers happy so they don’t feel the need to stray?

Let’s discuss…..

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

