A little customer service goes a long way – update

To everyone who followed my customer service saga yesterday with the local hospital system, I wanted to provide you an update.

After I blogged about my experience, I looked up the customer service contact number at the hospital. I called, and the nice lady on the phone gave me her e-mail address to send in details about my experience. She was very friendly and sounded sincere in her efforts to help. That was about 2 p.m.

At 4:30 p.m., I received a phone call. It was the doctor in charge of the pediatric sleep lab, who ultimately oversees that entire department. My e-mail had made its way to him, and he personally wanted to call and apologize for our experience and to let me know the technician’s supervisor was looking into the matter further.

He explained that while the technician was the newest member of the staff, his behavior was no excuse, since he had been through the same training as everyone else. The doctor went on to say they pride themselves in catering to children, so being able to recognize signs of fear, discomfort, etc. and knowing how to help kids feel more comfortable are very important to them. He said he would have the supervisor call me today and give me an update.

He was actually really nice and seemed geniune in wanting to rectify the situation. I was impressed with how quickly he called (in fact, I think he’d called my phone earlier in the afternoon, but I missed the call). He answered all of my questions about the test my son had done, and assured me they want to do everything they can to make our experience a positive one. He said he couldn’t change what happened for us, but he wanted to make sure it didn’t happen again.

So, long story short, I feel better about the conclusion of the situation. I think this department handled the matter well in quickly addressing the issue and having someone at the top contact me to let me know the matter was under investigation.

There will always be people who are having a bad day, just don’t like their job or something else that prevents them from carrying out a company’s mission. But to err is human, and I like when companies stand up and recognize their fault, and try to do something about it. Well done, Greenville Hospital System.

3 Comments

  1. This is the first time that I am visiting your blog, thanks to your posts on customer service. This is a topic that I obsess about and am glad to see that you did not let poor service go unchallenged.

    You are being too generous in saying that people have their bad days. In the kind of job that the technician has to perform, there is no excuse whatsoever for such horrendous behavior, particularly in a children’s ward.

    I am however gladdened to see that there are others who will want to make amends and take corrective action so that others do not go through similar experiences.

  2. Thanks for your note! I got another call yesterday from the technician’s supervisor, who just wanted to let me know he sat down with the technician and went through some of the very specific examples I mentioned in my e-mail. He said he was glad I was so specific (hey, I AM in PR, by the way!) because it was a good teaching tool for him when talking with the tech. The tech was surprised, but admitted he could see how some of his actions could have been interpreted the way they were. I think the department is taking steps to correct the action, and that’s all I could ask for. I commend them for their quick response to the situation, too.

  3. The moral of the story is that we all make mistakes, but it’s how we recover from them that really counts.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

