Go ahead – call me Pollyanna – see if I care

When I was younger, I loved the movie Pollyanna (Hayley Mills version, of course).

We had the movie on Beta (yeah, I went there) and I literally wore the tape out, because I watched it so much.

I will be the first to admit, I have been in a funk lately. I have been negative and moody and all around crabby to be around. I needed a serious attitude adjustment – and in these desperate times, I have to draw on the magic of a Disney movie for inspiration: my beloved Pollyanna.

What would I be like if I was always in a perpetual state of positivity?

Well, I had the perfect opportunity yesterday afternoon to find out. After attending a nearly four-hour virtual conference, I stepped outside the office to check my voice mail. A local editor had received my name from another editor in Greenville and was asking if I was interested in writing a story for one of their upcoming issues.

Instead of worrying what the deadline was or worrying about any of the details of the writing assignment, I decided to just be happy that I was recommended by a peer. Not only because of the fact that I might get the chance to work with someone on a writing project (which I absolutely love). But, it is just a nice feeling to be recognized and recommended by a colleague, and I don’t think I will ever not appreciate that or understand how important that is in our industry.

In this day and age, word of mouth can make or break you as an entrepreneur, and it’s great to learn that there is someone out there who values my work as a professional.

Liza and I always say that it’s so much easier to remember the negative things that creep up on you as you run your small business – the lost accounts, the new business opportunities that don’t come to fruition, the disappointing projects that went all wrong. But I think it’s more important than ever to focus on the good things – the nice e-mail from a peer, a recommendation, a small accomplishment.

Everywhere you look, you can scope out, find and concentrate on the doom and gloom of a situation, but I find if I focus on the small positives in life, my outlook on everything changes for the better.

Want to share a positive that happened to you this week? Feel free to share!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

