Pattie Boyd, Eric Clapton and…PR?

I know. I know.  I am supposed to be studying for my APR this summer.  But when I was in the airport flying to Florida last week for the July 4 holiday, I picked up a delicious memoir, “Wonderful Tonight” written by Pattie Boyd (she was George Harrison’s – of the Beatles – first wife and later married Eric Clapton). 

She inspired songs such as “Something,” “Layla” and “Wonderful Tonight” among others.  Let’s just say neither marriage really ended well.  I read her book twice while laying on the beach and decided to pick up Eric Clapton’s autobiography in the airport on the way back – to read his side of the story. (As consumer savvy as I think I am, I can definitely fall victim to marketing tactics and impulse buys…the two memoirs were conveniently next to each other in the book store.)

Anyway, I have completely enjoyed both books, not because of all the name dropping and an insider’s view to the rock n’ roll lifestyle, but because it’s so refreshing to learn about people’s experiences and how they deal with internal and external challenges they face.  I love a good story that details the rise and fall – and rise again – of someone who has been through the ringer.

The public relations industry is not as glamorous as rock n’ roll (much to the dismay of students everywhere hoping to become Samantha Jones from “Sex and the City” once they begin their PR careers), but there are a lot of parallels.  Dealing with rejection, encountering difficult personalities and not seeing eye-to-eye on creative processes are some I can think of off the top of my head. 

This past week I’ve been disappointed with a professional situation, but there is no reason to dwell on it too long.  So, as I move onward and upward and eagerly await what’s next around the corner, I will listen to Eric Clapton’s “Unplugged” in my car and think of how I can apply the lessons I’ve learned from this disappointment moving forward.  As silly as it may seem, reading these memoirs this week has helped me realize how important it is to stumble a bit, because you’ll be able to realize exactly why it happened at some point in the future.

Keep on keepin’ on, folks!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

