Tune into Extreme Makeover Home Edition this weekend!

Are you a fan of “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition?”  I am!  My husband makes fun of me because I always cry at the end of each episode…but really, how can you not?  They do a fabulous job of giving back to the community and helping families all over the nation.

 

Well, I just got an e-mail from someone on the EMHE design team, giving me a heads up that the season finale airs this Sunday and it looks like it is going to be a great one.(I manage public relations for Progress Lighting, a residential lighting manufacturer that has participated in several EMHE projects.)

 

On Sunday, May 18, Ty and the gang head to New Orleans to help an extended family rebuild their home and a local congregation with their church.  Keep your eyes out for sconces in the church – they are from Progress Lighting!

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Oh, how I love that show!! I’m glad you posted this, because I *thought* I heard a blurb on the news this morning, but wasn’t sure I heard it correctly. I’m quickly becoming a fan of many companies in both South Carolina and North Carolina. I love that you can give a shout-out to Progress Lighting — I love that they’re willing to participate!

    My home town (Detroit) had its own EMHE episode for a family in Oak Park, Mich. It was fabulous watching these companies step up and donate not only products, but time as well.

    I would love to know if this whole EMHE movement has a halo effect for Habitat for Humanity… that would be a great thing!

  2. It is amazing how companies and communities alike step up to help out a fellow neighbor in need.

    If there are any Habitat for Humanity folks out there that can speak about a possible halo effect, let us know!

  3. Extreme Makeover, the New Orleans addition was a great show. As former New Orleanian (pre-Katrins) I tuned in. I usually don’t watch these shows; I found it was uplifting.

  4. Thank you for helping in the rebuilding of my hometown. Now I know what that flag was! It caught my eye. Did you know New Orleans is “the Cresent City” (for being in the cresent of the Mississippi River) and the cresent moon is one of its symbols? It was fate that brought you to us! Thank you for caring for your fellow Americans in need. It really does lift our hearts.

  5. Hi Doctorj – I definitely appreciate your comments, but the thanks definitely goes to Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. They do such a great job in identifying projects and putting a team together that travels all over the country to help communities and families in need.

    I actually didn’t know that New Orleans is nicknamed the “Crescent City!” Thanks for sharing. And since you commented on the South Carolina state flag, I did a little research and found the history behind it:

    South Carolina State Flag (from 50states.com) – Asked by the Revolutionary Council of Safety in the fall of 1775 to design a flag for the use of South Carolina troops, Col. William Moultrie chose a blue which matched the color of their uniforms and a crescent which reproduced the silver emblem worn on the front of their caps. The palmetto tree was added later to represent Moultrie’s heroic defense of the palmetto-log fort on Sullivan’s Island against the attack of the British fleet on June 28, 1776.

  6. I happen, to also, be a huge fan of EMHE, and that’s how I found your blog. Just wanted to say, super interesting blog!

  7. Thanks pseudonymblog…glad you found the blog, and glad you like it so far!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

