The lost art of vacationism

God willing, this time tomorrow I will be en route to sunny Cancun, Mexico, for four whole days of beach, good food and relaxation. It’s been almost a year since I’ve taken a vacation – a real vacation – and that’s more than most Americans take.

We’re a work-obsessed culture and I’ll admit, I’m a follower. With my “Crackberry” glued to my hip, checking e-mails at all hours of the day has become second nature (much to my husband’s dismay). I feel guilty if I’m away from the office just for a little bit, if I don’t respond to someone’s call or e-mail instantly or if, heaven forbid, I miss a deadline (which hardly ever, ever happens!).

All the experts wil tell you taking some time for yourself is good both for you and your employer. You come back refreshed and more productive (in theory). But the thought of the 5,000 e-mails waiting to be answered is enough to make some people not want to leave their desk at all.

This time, though, I’m going to take a stand. I make this pledge, and I hope you all will hold me accountable. I will NOT take my computer on vacation with me. I will have my Blackberry, but I will turn off the wireless function and vow only to check e-mail once a day, in the morning, so that I may fully dedicate my attentions to my sun tan. I will turn my “out of office” e-mail on to let people know that no, I will not have periodic access to e-mail – (gasp) I won’t have ANY access to e-mail! Hallelujah! I’m breaking the chains!

Ok, a little melodramatic, yes, but as you can see, I’m in dire need of a vacation! I feel confident the world will continue to revolve in my absence, and everything will still be waiting for me when I return next Monday. And I hope I come back to the office relaxed, tanned and ready to think up even more stellar PR strategies for my clients.

Happy blogging this week, folks. I know Kim will have some great commentary for you to ponder and weigh in on. (And make sure to wish her luck in her APR readiness review taking place this Thursday! Knock ’em dead, Kim!).

Adios, amigos.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

