Is Wikipedia really a cockroach?

Wow,

This article is really interesting as it relates to using Wikipedia as a tool for research purposes, especially within educational markets.

http://www.swampfox.ws/2008/04/01/despite-hostility-education-wikipedia-oublished-10-millionith-article

What do you think?  Do you typically use Wikipedia? 

I use it sparingly, because I have had the notion in my head that the facts are not reliable…but it looks like it can still be a very valuable tool in researching projects, as well as learning more about “open source knowledge models.”

2 Comments

  1. I typically take anything I find on Wikipedia with a grain of salt. It is quite helpful, though, for quick reference; anything else I check against more reputable information.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Jade. I definitely agree with you.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

